Joseph’s Coat

3111 Rangeline Road Covington, Ohio

Joseph’s Coat

The family selected this quilt pattern because both of their grandmothers did quilting of similar designs and it was best suited for this barn.   Built in the early 1800s, this barn is a two story timber frame Bank Barn with hand hewn beams and the stone foundation was quarried from a local site.    It was always used to raise livestock, to store grain, hay and straw and is still today a fully functional barn with the first floor housing the live stock, and the second floor is used for storage of grain, hay, straw.   You’ll want to take some extra time to watch the wonderful and friendly goats at this farm.

The property was first owned in 1818 by David Douglas.   Deeds show he sold it to William Perry in 1822.   The barn was believed to be built by one of these previous owners.   There were several deed changes, as many as 15 back in the early and late 1800s.   The barn structure consists of hand laid block stone and square wood beams.   When first constructed, it was all wood siding, and in the mid 1900s was updated with metal siding and a metal roof.   Since then, with lots of TLC, the barn still stands as proudly to Miami County as it did the day it was built.

Since 1900 the previous owners were B.S. Bashore, Magdalene Pickanue, Ed Boehringer, Bob and Hazel Shellabarger, and Ed and Maxine Alexander – all shared the pride of this grand barn.

Located south of Covington on the west side of the county.   Rt. 48 runs north/south through Covington.   Falknor  Rd. intersects Rt. 48.   Turn west on Falknor Rd. and then south on Rangeline.  Property is located on the east side between Panther Creek and Sugar Grove roads.


View Larger Map